SC Noob Hardware Inquiries

After doing a BUNCH of reading, watching and learning how to set up and get around a bit in SC, I have some hardware related setup questions. I’m going to be using CaliJoshua’s Thrustmaster Warthog profile. Still reading and sorting through the steps and will begin the install process soon. I just finished installing SC today. All seems good. I have read most of the online SC guides and watched many hours of beginners vids. Gettin there! 20 years flightsimming, 5 years DCS, 1 year Elite.

I have never been a FPS gamer. I’m a pilot. That’s not a judgement call, it’s just they way it is. Never had to worry about walking around in Elite Dangerous. Never installed Odyssey (thankfully).

I did however see I can use an Xbox controller, wired version) in game as there is a profile for it in SC.

But… in reading CaliJoshua’s install guides he has me removing EVERY default bind prior to installing Thrustmaster Target software, setting up the profile and learning to use it “as a pilot”!

Question: Should I hold off seting up the Xbox controller first, which is they way I was headed before giving it more serious thought. Will the TM Warthog Profile allow me to move my character around ie… WASD as well as fly/weapons/sheilds?

Or… should I set up the Xbox controller, then learn which Binds in game to retain for it for ground movement and then move on to the Target Profile Software to fly?

Hopefully this makes sense.

Just have not, in 20 years, had to worry about BOTH a moving character on ground as well as pilot/hotas/weapons/sheild systems.

Thanks for any help here.

2 Likes