Introductions - TadRoberts

Hi all!

I’m TadRoberts, no relation to Roberts space industries. And old ED handle. Anyhow, I’ve been playing SC for a few months and just starting to look for some community and multiplayer experiences.

I’m a real world software engineer and hobbyist pilot, but still learning the ropes in SC. Finding my $15 joystick isn’t up to snuff so better stuff is on the way. Looking forward to some multiplayer interations in the 'verse.

3 Likes

Welcome to ADI. Which joystick are you looking at?

I ordered a left/right pair of VKB Gladiator NXT Evo. I also ordered the Omni throttle conversion kit for each side, I wanted the maximum flexibility in configuring them the way I want. I have tried a variety of low end sticks and with their massive dead zones, noisy pots, centering issues and heavy spring rates that aren’t adjustable it’s very hard to be precise. I’ve been using a Logitech 3D Pro ($25) and it’s pretty bad.

1 Like

Nice, I’ve got two sticks atm and I love them for general movement as they feel so natural but I’m finding speed control very difficult when flying formation. It’s a real ache.

The EVO sticks can be modified to remove the spring on either axis and an adjustable damper clutch to set drag on the associated axis, as well as an option to tilt the stick over at an angle that they call ‘Omni Throttle’. I’m not sure what config I’ll use yet but there’s a ton of ways to set it up. Having to fight a constant throttle tension in any circumstances would not be desirable, especially in formation. Ideally you could just turn the spring on/off as desired, but it’s a manual operation to open the bottom of the unit up and add or remove the spring so it’s not a simple toggle.

1 Like

Welcome aboard! Jump in mumble and maybe we can group up soon. I’m mainly a bunkers and bounties guy, but I dabble in a little of everything. What division are you joining?